Special F/X fix

5 Jan

depressing jan

I will be honest and say that I never really enjoyed January.   Or even February for that matter. If it’s January that means that the holidays are over, the tree  is down and the holiday spirit is quickly displaced.  I always struggled to switch gears.

Good news!  My 2013 was all the sudden not so depressing.  My January is full of things that are cool and awesome.   I have been working with a great group of filmmakers and actors/actresses for the past week and I have noticed an evolution of sorts within myself which I did not expect.  I was asked to be the MUA for this particular film and after reading the script I realized that the beauty end of things was extremely minimal.  This folks, is a film about sick, infected people who eventually perish and turn to zombies.  What? ??  This was going to be a challenge!  I have not really done film quality special f/x so what does one do?   I did tons of research and off I went with my blood, puke and festering wounds in hand.  Needless to say…I FELL IN LOVE.  I wasn’t so sure if I could pull this off but honestly, if you do your research and you have tons of love invested, it all turns out ok.  I may not be Oscar caliber  (yet) but so far, it looks really good on camera and I am so proud of what I have been able to accomplish.  Plus, I am realizing that this is definitely something I want to pursue for the long haul.  I love beauty makeup and I always will but there is something so cool about special f/x.

Anyway, I really just want to say that I am so grateful for the path I have been shown.  I am especially grateful that my mind opened up to allow me to see the endless possibilities that exist.  My experiences are what I choose to make them but it truly helps when you are in the company of wonderful people.

My wish for you for 2013 ……Open up and allow yourself to evolve and to see  all this great universe has to offer.

Now check out a pic of my homemade puke and blood!  Enjoy!

Blood

Leave a comment

RUBENESQUE

EVERYTHING BEAUTY

cambios de humor

Being crazy is fun

Miss Viktoriya

I make it, I try it, I buy it, I love it, I blog it.

eVaDiVa's Make-up Bag

Makeup, beauty and skincare

WordPress.com News

all things beautiful

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

hairsprayandhemingway

Adventures in literature, beauty, and life...Hairspray and Hemingway